The Australian Institute of Urban Studies (AIUS) was founded in 1967, through the initiative of the Australian Planning Institute and the Social Science Research Council as an independent non-profit organisation and concerned with all aspects of urban affairs.

The AIUS was initially a national body with State divisons in South Australia, Victoria, Queensland and New South Wales,  supported by membership subscriptions and by occasional grants from government and other sources.

The AIUS has a significant publishing record. Since 1970, AIUS had completed and published over 100 research reports, numerous collections of seminar and conference papers and a quarterly journal titled, Australian Urban Studies.

In 2013, as several State Divisions came to a close, the AIUS – SA was established as a stand alone entity and is governed by a Board of elected members.

In 2017, His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia held a civic reception and Government House to celebrate the important 50th Anniversary milestone and acknowledged the commitment of the hundreds of volunteers involved in enriching urban for all South Australians.  The current Board Executive joined many special guests to celebrate this significant anniversary of the South Australian branch of the Australian Institute of Urban Studies.

Photo: LtoR –  Mrs Lan Le, Honourable Hieu Van Le AC and AIUS-SA President Trish Hansen

This evening also acknowledged the significant contribution of six individuals over the many years by awarding them ‘honorary membership’. These people were:

John Ellis
Inaugural Secretary. Executive member during the 1990s and 2000s including terms as President. Influential planning advisor to both government and private sectors.

Elizabeth Fisher
Long serving federal public servant. Member of Executive and multiple terms as Secretary during 1990s and into early 2000s.

Stephen Hamnett
Distinguished Professor of Planning with University of South Australia from early 1980s. Significant influence on urban planning in South Australia, Australia and internationally. He served multiple terms as member of Executive during 1980s to 2000s.

Bryan Moulds
Former senior public servant. Peak industry body leader and development manager in public, private and not for profit sectors. Executive member continuously from 1986. Treasurer since 1991.

Terry Quinn
Executive member for over 20 years from mid 1990s. Terry served multiple terms as President during the 2000s. Long career in the public service in areas of urban renewal.

Sandy Rix
Long term career as a leading town planner in South Australia in both private and public service. President for a number of terms and a member of the Executive during the 1990s into the 2000s.